What is proposed?

    Amendments to the Development Contribution Plans are proposed. The amendments are to update the schedules of works, to amend the contribution for boarding houses in growth precincts, and to expand the range of exemptions and to update EPAA1979 clause references.

    Why have the names of the plans changed?

    The names of the plans refer to the relevant section of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 and the clause numbers in the Act have been amended.

    Why are there two development contribution plans?

    The Section 7.11 Plan 2016 imposes an open space levy on new dwellings in the precincts where the greatest population growth is anticipated. The main growth precincts are the centre and high density residential flat zones where development of residential flats could occur, with a corresponding increase in residents. These are: Sutherland/ Kirrawee, Miranda, Caringbah, Cronulla, Engadine, Gymea, Jannali, and Sylvania Southgate.

    The draft Section 7.11 Plan 2016 imposes a levy on all other development with value over $100,000 in all areas of the Sutherland Shire. The projects funded under this plan are varied in type and distributed across the Sutherland Shire.

    What do I need to consider when making a submission?

    Anyone making a submission is required to disclose any reportable political donation, or any gift to any local Councillor or employee of Council. Please be advised that all submissions received in response to the exhibition will be available as a public record.

    Who do I contact for further information?

    For further information, contact Council’s Strategic Planning Unit by phone 9710 0800, or email ssc@ssc.nsw.gov.au